SUPPORT: Mon - Fri: 10 AM - 5 PM

Austria - VWP Member since 1991

Austria is a landlocked country in Europe and borders on Germany, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovenia, Italy, Slovakia, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. In addition to Vienna, other major cities are Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz and Graz. More than 60 percent of the area is alpine, which makes the state very popular with winter sports enthusiasts. 

VWP member: 1991
Capital: Vienna
Population: 8,858,775 (1 January 2019)
Political system: semi-presidential representative democracy
Year of foundation: 
Official language: German
Tourist office:

US Embassies

US Country News